Mount Tate, The Sacred Mountain (tate-yama,立山)

Mount Tate is one of the three sacred mountains of Japan. One should wake up really early to climb this mountain in one day since the steps to go up are : 1) underground bus climbing from Ogizawa station to Kurobe Dam station, 2) an underground Funicular going from the dam (Kurobeko station) to the Kurobedaira station, 3) A cablecar going from Kurobedaira to Daikanbo and then 4) an underground bus crossing inside the mountain and reaching Murodo station on the other side, therefore allow plenty of time for the commute! The climb of Mount Tate from the Murodo station takes approximately 2 hours and many huts are available for overnight stay near the mountain. A shinto shrine is located on the summit of mount Tate which makes it a site of “Pilgrimage” for many climbers who take some time for a prayer on the summit before continuing to their next destination.

share photos of Japan from GaijinGoJapan

Click on links to see the interactive map
Country: Japan
Area : Chubu area
Prefecture : Toyama-ken
City : Tateyama-machi
District : Ashikuraji
Getting around
Directions to "Mount Tate, The Sacred Mountain (tate-yama,立山)" in Google Map
See more about
Japan > Chubu area > Toyama-ken > Tateyama-machi > Ashikuraji

Published by

Gaijin San

Since my better half is Japanese I often have the chance to travel to Japan. I grew fond over time of this magnificent country. I thought of sharing with you some places worth visiting in this little but growing travel guide to Japan. I try to show with images what I can't express with words. I hope you may find here some inspiration! For those who wonder, I chose the moniker Gaijin-San after being called like this by a waitress at a grilled eel restaurant. "Gaijin" means foreigner and "San" is a honorific suffix in Japanese.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.